The Kidney Foundation of Canada

National Recognition Program

The Harold W. Ashenmil Award

This award was initiated to honour the outstanding service of Harold W. Ashenmil, the Foundation’s Founding member and National Past President, for his valued role in the growth and development of The Kidney Foundation of Canada. It is granted to a volunteer who, over a number of years, has rendered distinguished service and made noteworthy contributions to the Mission and objectives of The Kidney Foundation of Canada. It is considered the highest honour given to a volunteer.

Nomination Process

The latest recipient of the Harold W. Ashenmil Award is:

2019    Chris Gobeil, QC   

Past Recipients of this prestigious award include:

2018    Paul Kidston, ON
2017    Matt MacFarlane, ATL
2016    Andrew MacRitchie, B.C.

2015    Harvey Thomson, ON
2014    Faye Clark, N.B. & Dr. William Clark, ON
2013    Dr. Julian Midgley, AB
2012    Kathryn Richardson, ON
    Dr. Kevin Burns, ON
2010    Dr. Joanne Kappel, SK
2009    Denis Marquis, QC
2008    Niloufer Bhesania, ON
2007    Dr. Ted Toffelmire, ON
2006    Patrice Waché, QC
2005    Pierre Chabot, ON
2004    Peter Davis, ON
2003    Mary Lou Karley, ON
2002    Not Awarded
2001    Sylvain Thibault, QC
2000    Bill Wood, ON
1999    Lorna McLeod, MB
1998    Marcia Bell, BC
1997    Peter Hoult, ON
1996    Colette Larochelle, QC
1995    Mary Catharine McDonnell, NS
994    Owen Brown, NL
1993    Betty Drysdale, PEI
1992    Greg Robbins, ON
1991    Neil Bronsch, AB
1990    Ann Mastronardi, ON; Blanche McCuspey, NB
1989    Doris Norman, NB
1988    Dr. John Dossetor, ON
1987    Ken Hughes, MB
1986    Reginald Stott, BC
1985    Claude Maillet, QC
1984    David Ornstein, QC
1983    Alfred Coll, ON
1982    Gordon Berger, ON
1981    Kay Beaton, NB
1980    Chris Walls, BC
1979    Ann Guimareans, BC