The Kidney Foundation of Canada

National Recognition Program

The Dr. John B. Dossetor Research Award


The year 2004 marked the 40th anniversary of The Kidney Foundation of Canada and in celebration of this milestone, as well as, in honour of one of the founders of the organization, The Mission Award - Research was renamed the Dr. John B. Dossetor Research Award. From the outset, Dr. Dossetor was instrumental in the establishment of kidney research as a high priority for the Foundation. This high priority remains and the research strategies that were developed then are as relevant today as they were 40 years ago.

This award is presented to an individual or group who merits special recognition for outstanding service or other contributions to The Kidney Foundation's research program (ex: significant funding of research, creating/developing research partnerships, raising research awareness, contributing to research committees, etc...).

Nomination Process

The latest recipient of the Dr. John B. Dossetor Research Award is:

2019    Leslie & John Pearson, ON

Past Recipients of this prestigious award include:

2018    Dr. Catherine Clase, ON
2017    Dr. William Clark
2016    Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn, AB
2015    Dr. Marie-Josée Hébert, QC & Dr. Lori West, AB
2014    Dr. Kevin Burns, ON
2013    Dr. Braden Manns, AB
2012    Dr. Peter Nickerson, MB
    Canadian Institute for Health Research - Institute of Nutrition, Metabolism and Diabetes
2010    Dr. Brendan Barrett, NL
2009    Dr. Adeera Levin, BC
2008    Dr. Joaquin Madrenas, QC
2007    Not Awarded
2006    Dr. John Harnett, NL
2005    Canadian Society of Nephrology
2004    Peter Hoult, ON
2003    Marcia Bell, BC
2002    Not Awarded
2001    Not Awarded
2000    Dr. John Seely, ON
1999    Not Awarded
1998    Michel Perron, QC
1997    Not Awarded
1996    Dr. John Crocker, NS