The Kidney Foundation of Canada

National Recognition Program

The Mary Lou Karley Patient Services Award


In recognition of an individual whose volunteerism, enthusiasm and devotion have demonstrated the true meaning of excellence in service, The Mission Award - Patient Services has been renamed the Mary Lou Karley Patient Services Award. The late Mary Lou Karley, who held numerous leadership positions including National President and Chair of the Patient Services Committee, was appreciated across the country for her tremendous contribution on behalf of The Kidney Foundation of Canada.

This award is presented to an individual or group who merits special recognition for outstanding dedication and/or contribution to The Kidney Foundation Patient Services at a Chapter, Branch or National level.

Nomination Process

The latest recipients of the Mary Lou Karley Patient Services Award is:

2019   The medical staff of the Kidney Kids Camp of Quebec, QC
           University of Alberta Kidney Club: Aleeza Manucot & Lisa Shi, NAB

Past Recipients of this prestigious award include:

2018    The Financial Burden Working Group :
            Scott Klarenbach, Lianne Barnieh, Paul Komenda, Shirley Pulkkinen,
            Karthik K. Tennankore, Neil Thompson, Angie Touvinen and Marsha Wood
2017    Dr. Manjula Gowrishankar, AB
2016    Faye Clarke, Atlantic; Roger Wharmby, ON; B.C. Branch of the Chinese Renal Association, BC;
           La Fondation de la Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec, QC; Flaman Group of Companies, AB 
2015    Hilary Heenan, ON
2014    Dorothy Roode, Atlantic
2013    Joanne Kappel, SK
2012    Dr. Pierre Cartier, QC
2011    June Martin, ON
2010    Chinese Renal Association, ON
2009    Doug Parsons, ON
2008    Volunteer Medical Staff, Summer Camp for Dialyzed & Transplant Recipient Children, QC
2007    Cathy Gillis, NS
2006    Gaétan Rhéaume, QC
2005    Dr. Pierre Nantel, QC
2004    Mendel Schnitzer, MB
2003    Nancy Valensky, ON
2002    Jacques Davignon, QC
2001    Sharon Lawson, AB
2000    Irene MacDonald, NB
1999    Marvyn Roseland Barnes, ON
1998    Laval Laflamme, QC
1997    Jean Paul Couture, NB
1997    Philippa Prescott, BC
1996    Jean-Jacques Begin, QC