The Kidney Foundation of Canada

National Recognition Program

The Kidney Foundation of Canada Public Awareness Award


This award is presented to broadcast or print media. It is awarded to an individual, a network program, or a series of programs or articles that have successfully heightened public awareness of kidney disease, its related problems, or any programs in which The Kidney Foundation is actively involved.

Nomination Process

The latest recipients of The Kidney Foundation of Canada Public Awareness Award is:

2019   Not Awarded

Past Recipients of this prestigious award include:

2018   SHAW TV, BC
2017   Not Awarded
2016   Ken Merkley, BC.;
          Global Edmonton, AB
2015   Rosvita Dransfeld and ID Productions, AB
          Craig Kerr and YES TV, ON
2014   Tracy Durkee-Jones, Atlantic
          Gaétan Frigon & Hélène Héroux, QC
          Jaya Katwaroo, ON
          Terry Leon, ON
          Alex Lifeson
, Guitarist of the Canadian rock band RUSH
          Jarret and Angie Osborne and their sons, Harrison and Clark, ON
          The Nova Scotia Renal Program, NS
2013   Bravada Consumer Communications Inc., ON  
          News Canada
          Dory Rossiter, AB
          Penny Shore, ON
2012   Bruce Deachman, The Ottawa Citizen, ON
2011   Diana Dobson, B.C.
          Safeway Pharmacy, Sask
2010   Amgen & Environics, ON
2009   Argyle Communications/Shire Canada
          CHSJ Country 94.1 & The Wave 97.3 CHVW

2008    Not Awarded
2007   CAA-Québec, QC
2006   Ikea Burlington/Space for Living, ON
2005   Réal Bélanger & CKOI FM, QC
2004   Société d’assurance automobile du Québec, QC
2003   Rainbow Cinemas, SK
2002   Storeimage, ON
2001   Jacques Duval, QC
2000   The Toronto Star, ON; The Edmonton Journal, AB
1999   The Ottawa Citizen, ON
1998   CFQC-TV Saskatchewan, SK
1997   Gary Beech & MIX 105 CJMX, ON
1996   The Irving Group of Papers, NB
1995   CBC North – Yellowknife, NWT
1994   The Trail Times, BC
1993   CITY-TV, ON
1992   The Calgary Sun, AB
1991   MCTV (Mid Canada), ON
1990   Rick Malo, CHNO, ON
1989   The Sudbury Star, ON
1988   CJOH TV, ON
1987   Country 101, NS
1986   Quebecor, QC
1985   MacLaren
1984   Mediacom Inc.
1983   Halifax Chronicle Herald, NS
1982   The Montreal Gazette, QC
1981   The Edmonton Journal, AB
1980   Time Canada Ltd., ON
1979   Reader’s Digest, QC