Curriculum Task Force

Dr. Adeera Levin, Chair

Dr.  Levin, MD, FRPCP, is currently a Professor of Medicine at University of BC and the Executive director of the BC Provincial Renal Agency, an organization which manages and co-ordinates the care of patients with kidney disease in the province of BC, and which has developed and maintained the provincial registry for renal patients.

She is the Chair of Curriculum Task Force for the Kidney Research Scientist Core Education and National Training Program — KRESCENT Program.

In addition, she was the chair of the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO), CKD Work group for the updated guidelines 2012.

Her research and clinical activities focus on chronic kidney disease, co morbidities associated with CKD mechanisms of disease and health outcomes research. She is active in mentoring young investigators in kidney related research, and holds numerous grants for clinical studies.  She has received funding from peer reviewed organizations such as CIHR (Canadian Institute of Health Research),  The Kidney Foundation of Canada, Michael Smith Foundation and the Ministry of Health Services BC. In addition, she is the principal investigator on a number of studies funded by industry but designed and developed by the investigators. She has been awarded the 2014 Kidney Foundation of Canada Medal for Research Excellence and was named President (2015-2017) of the International Society of Nephrology.  She was awarded the Providence Health Care Senior Scientist Award for Research 2008, and the 2009 Dr. John B. Dossetor Mission Award - from The Kidney Foundation of Canada for her contributions to kidney research. She is Chair of the Knowledge User group as part of the CanNet team, the inaugural editor of the new official Canadian Society of Nephrology journal, an open-access scholarly publication and the first if its kind to serve the Canadian nephrology community, and coordinates pan Canadian studies in CKD.

The KRESCENT Program is a Strategic Training Program developed and supported by:


With additional generous support from:

AMGEN               Baxter Corporation               Merck-Frosst Canada Ltd.             Ortho Biotech              RocheShire BioChem Inc.

© 2005 The Kidney Foundation of Canada